Some people think technology development decreases crime, while others believe it actually encourages crime. Discuss both views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your knowledge and experience.

With the universality of applied science, it is generally thought that more illegal activities arise. This essay will examine both the benefits and the inherent drawbacks of technological development in reducing the crime rate. It is evident that technological advancement has significantly increased the cost of committing a perfect crime. In my perception, this is largely attributed to the prevalence of surveillance cameras, as they serve not only as a means of tracking criminals but also as a deterrent to potential offences. Statistics indicate that China, a country where surveillance cameras are widely installed, has a relatively lower crime rate than those countries that lack such a technical inference. Furthermore, an immense database is built on the internet, where billions of personal information, including biological records assist in criminal investigation, and thereby, deterring those who want to plan an undetectable crime. On the other hand, technology could be maliciously exploited by criminals. For instance, the block chain, a high tech with an inspiring aspiration of redefining online payments and encrypts information, instead provides a means for money laundering. Provided that money laundering is an essential stage when hiding crime evidence, more illegal activities would be encouraged as the feasibility of a perfect crime increases. Consequently,illegal interference from governments should be taken to address aforementioned issues. Primarily, more systematic and elaborate examination on flow of data between each digital ledger reduces the potential erase or modification of information, given the assistance of legal technicians. Moreover, the last resort, the armed force, could possibly exert more severe punishments on the outlawyers. In conclusion, while technology plays a crucial role in criminal investigation and deterrents, it may also offer a new tool for illegal activities. With regard to its downsides, one that resolves the problem is to have a strict examination of technology.