The growing number of overweight people is putting a strain on the health care system in an effort to deal with the health issues involved. Some people think that the best way to deal with this problem is to introduce more physical education lessons in the school curriculum. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is believed that a potential solution to tackle the immense economic and social burden of an increasingly overweight population is to include physical training as a part of the academic curriculum. I firmly concur with this notion as the early introduction of physical activity in schools raises awareness about the serious consequences of an increased BMI while also inculcating healthy habits. Incorporating more physical education in schools would not only encourage students to take part in sports and athletics but also educate students regarding the harmful effects of a sedentary lifestyle. This becomes a pressing issue and a potential cause of weight-related issues, as children become increasingly dependent on technology for recreation. Appreciation of regular physical activity will encourage adolescents to pursue physical exercise and promote the benefits to their peers. Therefore, advocating PE would ultimately enable children to make more mindful health choices. Furthermore, participating in sports at a young age can instil discipline. Excelling in any physically demanding activity requires dedication and hard work, which comes with a fixed routine that can transform pupils into health-conscious adults. This can promote healthy lifestyle choices and mitigate the strain on the public health sector by preventing lifestyle-related diseases. In conclusion, the obesity related health crisis needs to be tackled by informing our youth of the importance of exercise and fostering good habits. This can be facilitated by mandating regular physical education in schools.