Many students find it harder to study when they are at the university or college than when they were at school. Why is this? What can be done to solve the problem?

As the college education is generally more academically stressful than that of high school for the majority, the debate over why it happens and how to address it remains a controversy. While a series of reasons are responsible for this case, preventive measures need to be taken. Of all compelling reasons, the crux of matter is the more sophisticated real-life problems in universities. Those not only requires a spectrum of theories to elaborately explain the rationales, but also demonstrates varying intersections between logical chains, which relies on increasingly systematic and complex teaching throughout learning. Statistically, each chemistry question that shows up in entrance exam of Imperial college London is set a time limit of 20 minutes on average. Looking at the big picture, the authority exerts more academic pressure on college students due to their higher cognitive skills and knowledge accumulations than the high school counterparts, transferring a larger number of potential skilled labor towards the technological and cultural development. Albeit the aforementioned causes, a broad list of precautions could possibly come into play by two levels. Officially, the experts should bridge the gap between high schools and universities to balance the difficulty between courses of them, making the former more comprehensive, while mediating the complexity of the latter. On a personal level, they should sensibly arrange their time of study and preview the subsequent contents according to the syllabus. In sum, like any good piece of evidence, how these measures will be enforced is the key, whereas, the best interest of the public is finding a balance between suggested approaches and their opportunity costs.