One result of advances in the medical field is that life expectancy has increased around the world. Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages ?

The average life expectancy worldwide has been prolonged significantly over the last century. It is believed that this can be attributed to the advancements made in the field of medicine. While these innovations may put a strain on our health system, the benefits of an improved quality of life and the emotional impact of these changes outweigh its negative effects. The new treatment modalities and drugs are not only effective in treating previously considered deadly diseases, but also help prevent them. This plays a major role in enhancing the quality of life and minimising the risk of transmission of communicable diseases. In the past, diseases such as cancer and HIV meant a death sentence and had a huge toll on the patients and their family members. The pain of losing a loved one was emotionally scarring and caused severe mental distress. Furthermore, the cost of managing chronic illness and treating vaccine-preventable diseases adds up to an enormous amount, which poses an economic challenge as well. However, with these medical advancements come certain ethical and financial issues. Increased life expectancy directly increases an ageing population, which burdens the healthcare system. This becomes even more challenging as the public health system is unable to effectively nurse and support this large elderly population. Therefore, this is tasked to private hospice and nursing homes, which aren't a viable option for everyone and pose the ethical dilemma of who has the right to dignity and care. Moreover, certain novel therapies are extremely expensive and are not universally accessible in every country. This also adds to the ethical ambiguity of the right to live. Therefore, along with the novel medical advancements, we need a robust healthcare system that can accommodate and support the elderly demographic and make continuous efforts to make these advancements accessible to all. Increasing funding to public healthcare could be a step in the right direction. In conclusion, medical innovations help individuals to lead long and healthy lives. These innovations should come with an efficient health care policy that favours all.