Some believe secondary students should learn international news as a subject at school, while others think it is a waste of time. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

As globalization deepens, the debate over whether the exposure of global issues to secondary students is acceptable remains a controversy. While there are compelling reasons for either standpoint, it, arguably, depends on personal characters. The crux of matter is, according to conservatives, is the crisis of cultural identities. Middle school students generally lack critical thinking compared to adults, vulnerably resulting in disconnections to their own cultural identities in light of the clash between varying opinions and norms. Looking at the big picture, another concern is the overwhelming cost of officially selecting and updating news for textbooks, whereas, the digital natives gain more economical and accessible information online, which eliminates the opportunity cost of consuming funding from taxpayers on this resource-intensive work. Alternatively, activists hold diametrically opposed views. Individually, the collective study on global events provides students with stronger resilience and tolerance, stemming from frequents bilateral trades or conflicts between nations, and this benefits them in every arena, along the lines of their studies or managerial positions. As for the authority, the accumulated experience of politics enables them to gain polished verbal skills and comprehensive understanding on political issues, increasing the supply of skilled labor to governments. On balance, the choice should be based on students’ personal preference. For those who are adventurous, it is better option to receive multi-national information and more fresh ideas, thus to build foundation for their political careers or pursuing fewer academic contents. While for the science major student or conservative ones, to feel less stressful or less involved, alternative methods are sufficient. To conclude, while both sides hold true to their beliefs, it is personally determined by the individuality of stakeholders. Consequently, there is no golden rule for everyone when opting for such subjects, as long as they are not compulsory.