Some people want governments to spend money looking for life on other planets. Others, however, think this is a waste of public money when there are so many problems on earth. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from own knowledge or experience.

With the advancement of technology, especially in the research industry, while some proponents argue that governments should allocate a budget for searching for life on other planets, others advocate that there are serious problems on Earth. Although the first argument offers certain benefits, I firmly believe that the latter statement is vital across several aspects. This essay will examine both perspectives, providing relevant examples, before reaching a well-justified conclusion. There are a few advantages of searching for life on other planets. The primary merit is a solution for overpopulation in the earth. Several nations, for example, China, India and Bangladesh, have faced population issues so far, while others are gradually going towards that direction. Therefore, some developed countries allocate significant budgets for looking for life on other planets as a viable measure. Furthermore, they try to address some other serious issues, such as fossil fuels, plantation, and water. For instance, a research study conducted by the University of Peradeniya revealed that there is water and better conditions for plantation on the Neptune planet. This budget allocation is significantly high. However, there are considerable pressing issues on Earth. Nowadays, people are facing inflation, not only in developing nations, but also in developed nations. The main reason for this is that relevant authorities waste their money for unnecessary research without thinking about their people's development. This is not only the main problem, consequently, it creates some social problems, including family-related issues and social inequality. In conclusion, taking everything into account, I reiterate my belief that although there are some advantages of looking for life in outer space, I completely believe that there are other important aspects on Earth, including social and economic problems. Therefore, I think that this expensive search is a waste of limited resources.