Government should spend money on railways rather than roads To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is argued that governments expenditure should go to railways instead of roads. From my view, roads are of more importance for transport of the general citizens in their day-to-day life. This is why I partially disagree with the statement as roads and railways both go hand-in-hand to play a significant role for normal people to reach their destinations. We often see that roads are neglected by government officers even when it is in dire need of repair and construction. Consequently, it causes a hindrance for people to pass by to reach their office, schools and market which acts as a huge burden. This is the case for many roads, for which people are forced to seek alternatives that is quite troublesome. For instance, a damaged road filled with potholes causes an office worker to be late quite frequently putting their career at risk or a student being late to their morning lectures thus they are not only warned but also they can miss important topics. On the other hand, railways are just as important for those who travel way longer distances to reach their office in addition to people reaching their hometown within the country. Trains are the one of the most used medium of transport for a large no. of the population, especially for those who don’t like sitting through hours of traffic and seek out for a swift journey. Furthermore, a lot of people can travel at once which results in cheaper costs hence it is really suitable for financially deprived people. In conclusion, it is the utmost duty of the government to focus not only on railways but firstly on roads owing to the countless vehicles that pass through it for numerous purposes. If they are able to meet the criteria for undamaged and pothole free roads whilst being able to construct safer, smoother and larger railways than it will account to a brighter future for the people.