In many countries, governments and individuals spend too much money on national celebrations such as New Year and religious festivals. To what extent do you agree or disagree ?

Worldwide, some believe that governments and people tend to spend a high amount of cash on national celebrations like New Year and religious festivals. However, I totally disagree with this statement because governments gain a lot more money by attracting tourists, also this allows individuals to spend quality time with their families. National celebration spending pays off through increased tourism revenue. Most of these festivals have many places where individuals can spend a large amount of money, such as restaurants, gift shops, and other related regional experiences. These expenditures can make up for large portions of a country’s spending, leading to recovering their initial investment. For example, During Saudi Arabia's National Day celebration, the governments spend millions on preparing specific places for celebration. However, these places attract thousands of people, who end up spending a lot of money on food, beverages, gifts, and other related things. By this, the Saudi government gain more than they have invested. For citizens, national celebrations allow people to have an enjoyable time with their families. In today’s lifestyle, individuals are more focused on their work life, which causes many to have a stressful life. Therefore, although people might spend a large amount of cash on these celebrations, it allows them to reconnect with the people they care about, which will refresh their energy and increase their happiness. For instance, In Saudi Arabia, people save money for a whole month before the Eid celebration and then spend most of it on buying new clothes, food, and gifts. However, many believe it is worth the cost considering they get to spend the whole day with friends and family. In conclusion, I disagree that governments and people spend too much cash on national holidays because this money is invested by governments to attract many tourists, and it allows people to spend valuable time with their families.