Countries should try to produce all the food for the population and import as little food as possible. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is no denying that a large number of food products are imported from other countries these days. In relation to this, some people suggest that governments should improve their food production industries and reduce food importation. I completely agree with this notion, as several benefits can be gained in the agricultural sector if countries enhance their food sources. The reduction of food importation and the improvement of the food industry of countries should be prioritized for several reasons. The most conspicuous one lies in the fact that countries should be independent and self-reliant not only for the present but for the future generation as well. If government leaders exert efforts to improve the food manufacturing industry, innovations are more likely to take place. For instance, advanced food processing or farming technologies can be invented, benefitting the people and society. Needless to say, limiting the reliance on other countries in terms of food production is advantageous in many ways. It is also worth noting that businesses and consumers can gain significant benefits if countries strengthen their food production and limit food importation. When it comes to business organizations, they can gain more profits, as the financial resources allocated to tariffs and logistics can also be minimized. People can also consume healthier food products, as the time spent on transporting food is reduced. It is quite clear that fruits imported from other countries contain chemicals that extend the longevity of shelf life. If the public has access to local fruits, vegetables, and other food products, they can have a healthier diet, as consumption of preservatives is eliminated. In conclusion, while importing food products may have benefits, I would assert that transporting as little as possible provides greater advantages, such as improving agricultural industries and maintaining a healthier society.