In the last few decades, there have been more and more cases of famous people being hounded by the press. Some people think that famous people in the media should have no right to privacy. To what extent do you agree?

In today’s contemporary world, there is an ongoing debate regarding famous people being followed by the media and an incline in the number of cases of this issue. While some people advocate that well-known individuals in the media are not entitled to privacy, I completely disagree with this point of view because everybody is entitled to privacy regardless of their status. One compelling reason for my stance is that celebrities have their own private life just as every other common citizen. Although they are frequently exposed on television due to the nature of their careers, that does not mean their personal lives should be public as well. To support this, everybody has a family and personal hobbies in their lives which they prefer to be discrete. They should not be followed by a group of people with cameras on whenever they leave their house. For instance, if they decide to go to their family member’s place, or spend the evening playing tennis, being hounded by people during this time is stressful. Moreover, this will not only intrude on their privacy but also destroy their peace as well. This is in contrast to the life of a common man who does not need to worry about their privacy being invaded. Therefore, regardless of their fame in the media, people should have the right to privacy. In addition, it is widely proven that being overexposed to the public may cause danger to one’s personal life. The majority of celebrities are wealthy and if their lives are constantly in press and published in media, they might be blackmailed for money or robbed which might also put their families in danger. This can be better understood through the example of a celebrity’s house in California, USA has been robbed as a result of their family vacation being publicly announced by the people in media on television. As a consequence, the robber took advantage of the situation by tracking the social media account and planned a massive robbery overnight. This stresses that famous people do need privacy to avoid these kinds of unpleasant consequences. In conclusion, I firmly believe that celebrities have their right to privacy due to the reasons discussed despite their appearance on TV as part of their career and I disagree with the proponents who suggest otherwise.