Many manufactured food and drink products contain high level of sugar, which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage peopleto consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree?

As we know, the excessive consumption of sugar causes many health issues and some can be severe or untreatable. Many food and drink products manufactured these days contain high levels of sugar. While there is an ongoing debate regarding whether the price of sugar should be increased to stop people from consuming sugar, I partially agree with this statement. This essay will discuss why I partially support the point and give a reason for my contrasting opinion as well. First and foremost, excessive sugar consumption leads to severe health diseases such as diabetes, heart problems, obesity and tooth decay. Studies have shown that 20% of diabetic patients are children and 40% of heart issues among people around the globe are caused by heavy sugar intake. Therefore, increasing the price of sugar certainly hinders many health problems associated with high levels of sugar. Moreover, the surge in sugar prices will create awareness among more people who are not aware of the damaging effects of the consumption of sugary products. However, although making sugar more expensive has its own merits, encouraging a balanced diet is necessary rather than entirely hindering consumers from consuming sugar. This is because, food like chocolates, sweets, and cakes are important for certain occasions like birthday parties and weddings. Furthermore, some groups of people who are financially disadvantaged cannot enjoy desserts at family events. For instance, if an average-earning family wants to celebrate their kid’s fifth birthday where mostly children are invited, they have no option but to serve sweets. If these products are incredibly expensive, a simple birthday party will be a burden for them. Therefore, it is not the best approach to increase the price of sugar and expect everyone to benefit from it. In conclusion, it is an undeniable fact that making sugar products a luxury has its own advantages in encouraging people to consume less sugar, thereby reducing health issues. Nevertheless, I firmly believe that this method is not very efficient because there are people who will be disadvantaged by this. So, encouraging a good balanced diet will be a more effective approach to avoid health problems overall.