Some people think that job satisfaction is more important than job security, while some people think that they cannot always expect job satisfaction, a permanent job is more important. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

There is an ongoing debate about whether job satisfaction or job security is more important from an employee’s perspective. From a pragmatic perspective, of course, both of them are significantly important for workers. Hence, in this essay, I will discuss these distinct viewpoints and explain why I strongly support the opinion that they should focus on the level of satisfaction. To begin with, there are several benefits brought by job satisfaction because of its important role in the workplace. For instance, if people can work in ideal places where abundant benefits, such as many opportunities for promotions and rich facilities for them to relax, are available, they would consider that their employers regard workers as important resources for companies. In other words, thanks to those preferable working conditions, employees can be motivated. This consequently leads to higher efficiency and productivity of the entire business. Furthermore, if they become more efficient and motivated, their evaluations from their seniors will be greater, leading to an increase in salaries. This means that the higher job satisfaction is, the more they can make money. Therefore, when ordinary people choose their jobs, they should prioritize satisfaction. On the other hand, as some people argue, if they cannot keep working in same companies, their financial conditions may be unstable. Certainly, by working in the same places, they can secure their own financial resources, and they will be able to predict future plans. However, it is also true that even if they could find a permanent job, if they could not find meaningful aspects in daily work, they would be stressed and less motivated, as a result. These negative situations will decrease their productivity, and the evaluations of them from their colleagues and managers will be worse, leading to lower salaries. This information reveals that job security becomes meaningless, if there is no satisfaction, in other words, the existence of job satisfaction is more important and fundamental than job security. In conclusion, although there are some advantages brought by securing employment, the benefits of job satisfaction ultimately outweigh those of job security. What is more, the importance of long-lasting employment decreases if job satisfaction is not achieved. For these reasons, I completely agree with the statement that people should choose their jobs based on the estimated level of satisfaction.