Some countries have introduced laws to limit working hours for employees. Why are these laws introduced? Do you think they are a positive or negative development?

In today's globalized world, certain nations have introduced rules and regulations to restrict overworking for their employees. There are several reasons for these laws and although it provides some economic issues, I firmly believe that this is a positive development, because it offers significant benefits. This essay will examine both questions, supported by relevant examples, before reaching a well-justified conclusion. These restricted working hours laws are vital for several reasons. The main cause is enhancing the workers' lives. If they have to work overtime, they cannot achieve a work-life balance. Work-life balance is an important approach for any society. For instance, a research study conducted by the University of Peradeniya revealed that after introducing new rules for working hours, in 2022, Sri Lankan people's lives had improved by more than 25%, compared to the 2020's level. Another advantage of these laws is that relevant authorities are able to regulate their companies. Because, most organizations strive to take more work from their workers for low remuneration. Furthermore, although there are a few disadvantages to countries' economies, it provides greater merits for society, therefore it can be considered a positive development. Society is also one of the main parts of the sustainability aspect, and it can be improved using this kind of regulation. If people have enough time to enjoy with their relatives with sufficient money, a quality lifestyle can be achieved. Therefore, I firmly believe that this is a positive development due to these reasons. In conclusion, taking everything into account, I completely think that this is a positive strategy, because it offers numerous merits, such as improving people's lives and regulating the companies' power.