In some countries, students live with their family while studying at a university. In other countries, students attend university in another city. Do you think the advantages of living away from the family home while attending university outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, education plays a vital role in a student's life, moreover how reputed their college is, strengthens their career. This has prompted a debate about whether the positives of choosing a far away college outweighs the negatives. I largely agree with the former idea and will discuss the reasons for the same. To begin with, the main reason is the better opportunities it offers in an individual's career. This includes selecting a good college or choosing a stream which they want. For example, in my time, I chose to study in VIT, Tamil Nadu despite coming from Punjab in India, mainly because of two reasons one, the better quality of education which they offered and second, the course which I wanted. Furthermore, a student with mediocre scores can also expand their reach if they look beyond the area where they are living. Adding on to it, another point to consider is the independence that it offers. While critics may argue that since, students have a change of environment it may make them homesick on the contrary, that is just temporary. To illustrate, while I shifted from the north to the south of the country it was a big change for me as well but as time passed, I focused on the superior motive behind it. Moreover, when you experience different cultures and get to know people from diverse backgrounds, it enriches your journey on a deeper level. In conclusion, there may be minor disadvantages like, homesickness and a change of environment at the beginning. In contrast, the benefits it offers such as, better quality of education or variety of streams, independence, cultural exposure and a diverse background outshine the minute negatives. By choosing better opportunities and experience, students can definitely become successful and become well-rounded individuals.