The most important aim of science ought to be to improve people’s lives. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is often argued whether the first and foremost objective of science should be to enhance the quality of life for people or not. However, this essay agrees that improving people ’s lives should be the priority of scientific research. Limited resources available for conducting scientific studies and the poor quality of life of people living in third-world countries are the biggest reasons why scientific studies should be focused on improving people ’s lives. To begin with, scientific studies require a lot of valuable resources, and these resources are very limited. To explain in detail, any research requires a good amount of money to pay to the scientists and all other related expenses. Since this money comes from the taxes that people pay, it should be used in a way that can benefit humans. Therefore, it is very important that these funds should be utilized towards those studies that strictly focus on eliminating the problems that humans face. Additionally, many people in third-world countries do not have a basic standard of living. For some people in these countries, it is hard to find clean water to drink, enough food for survival and a good place to live in. When many people around the world can’t fulfil very basic needs for food, water and shelter, the most necessary objective of science should be to find cost-effective technologies to make sure that people can fulfil their basic needs for survival. To conclude, although scientific studies which focus on making effective ammunition for war are somewhat beneficial to the country, the primary objective of scientific research should be to improve the quality of life of people because humans have limited resources available to use for scientific studies and the very basic problems of the world like not having hygienic food, water and shelter for many people are yet to be solved.