Governments should spend less money on restoring old buildings and more money for new housing and roads development. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is recommended by many that governments should allocate few funds on repairing and preserving old infrastructure and use this money to build new buildings and roads to improve quality of life of citizens and develop the nation. I agree with this notion to some extent due to various reasons which i will explicate in the forthcoming paragraphs. Indeed, governments should focus on building new houses and roads because this will contribute to development of the country. By the construction of new houses, there will be a surge in urbanisations as more people will move into the city and these newly build houses will generate money in the form of rent for the government, which will, ultimately result in the growth of the economy and improve quality of life of citizens. Moreover, a lot of funds go into restoring old buildings which waste the tax payers money, as well as, these buildings are very fragile and repairing them can lead to accidents, which will consequently, cost the nation, human life. However, there are several positive outcomes of restoring old infrastructure. Primarily, this will preserve the country's culture and heritage buildings and will foster cross cultural knowledge. This will also attract tourists and will generate money and enable local economy to thrive on it's own. eventually, this will widen individual's cultural horizon. Apart from this, re-construction of these will require man power, which will open new jobs for the youth. As a result, there will be reduction of unemployment in the country. By the dint of aforementioned reasons, This belief have both merits and demerits. However, I believe that governments should equally focus on restoring traditional buildings as well as building new infrastructure to develop the state.