Many governments think that economic progress is their most important goal. Some people, however, think that other types of progress are equally important for a country. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

Many governments believe that economic development is their topmost priority, whereas, on the other hand some argue that progress in other aspects hold equal importance for a country. While, it cannot be denied that development in the economic aspects lead to a series of benefits important for a developed country, there are quite a few criteria which should be fulfilled. A progress in economy equals to better quality of living, an improved society as well as increased job opportunity. Thus, the lacking areas in a society will be refined owing to a flourishing economy. Likewise, in my view, if these matters are solely focused upon then social issues can arise in the future. A sustainable economy is the key to achieving long term prosperity which comprised of economical and social growth. If governments neglect on health industry, education and work environments then the idea of a refined economy will lose its purpose. Consequently, the government should try its absolute best to into account of various societal issues that helps the people living in it. For instance, work culture in Japan is vigorous to the point that it drives its people to suicide or is the main factor behind their psychological issues. Same thing can be said about schools in South Korea, where students go through immense pressure by studying during school hours till afternoon after which they are bound to undertake tuition classes until night to achieve these results. As a result, people in these countries suffer from numerous mental issues and low fertility. In conclusion, even though a country can have a high standard of living when its economy is stronger, I think improving other areas, such as the work environment, is of equal significance in regards to building a enhanced economy.