It is important for all towns and cities to have large public outdoor places like squares and parks. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

In today's modern world, there has an ongoing debate about the importance of large-scale public outdoor areas, such as squares and parks, in urban cities. I firmly agree with this statement because, although there are a few issues, including space management in the city areas, it provides notable developments, particularly in all the sustainable aspects. This essay will examine the reasons that I mentioned previously, supporting my perspective, and providing relevant examples, before reaching a well-reasoned conclusion. The major benefit of large-scale public open spaces is increased social development. Nowadays, people who live in metropolises are really struggling with their social challenges. They have not enough time and ways to enjoy themselves with their relatives, especially friends and families. If they have these kinds of places, they strive to enjoy their lives with quality atmosphere and better views of greenery areas. Consequently, the overall social development can be achieved. For example, certain European nations, such as Germany and the UK, have introduced several natural parks in their cities, and as a result, the bond of families, the smallest unit of the society, has been developed. On the other hand, the other two sustainability aspects, economic and environmental, are also improved. A viable solution for global warming and CO2 emissions is these large public outdoor places. For instance, a recent research study conducted by the University of Peradeniya (2024) revealed that nearly 22% of carbon emissions had been reduced after introducing the metropolis park project in Sri Lanka in 2020. In conclusion, taking everything into account, I reiterate my belief that I strongly agree with the statement of the vital of large open public places in urbanized towns due to several reasons: all the aspects of sustainability, namely economy, environment, and social.