In most countries, fast food is becoming cheaper and more available. Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

It is true that nowadays, there is an increase in the availability and a reduction in the price of fast food. Although this trend can bring about some advantages, the disadvantages involved are far more significant. There can be some minor benefits of this expansion. Chief among these is that the development of the fast food industry can contribute to the local economy. When a fast food brand establishes its outlets in an area and uses local agricultural products such as vegetables, poultry and livestock in its production, local crops become major sources of ingredients for its products. As a result, such collaboration encourages local farmers to increase their income. A case in point is KFC which is one of the most popular fast food brands in the world. Its food stores in Vietnam use chicken supplied from domestic farms. This company policy plays a vital role in ensuring the livelihood security of local farmers. Another advantage is that fast food companies provide residents with various job opportunities. These firms need a large number of employees for different positions in the company from managers to servers. Therefore, everyone, from university students to adults who do not have high qualifications can earn money for their lives. This contribution can help alleviate the local unemployment rate. Despite this, the fact that fast food becoming increasingly accessible to the general public can be detrimental for several reasons. Perhaps one of these is that the growth in fast food consumption can negatively affect public health. In fact, fast food often contains a large amount of harmful substances which cause obesity, cardiovascular diseases and other serious health issues. Such problems will place a heavy burden on the healthcare system. The second issue is that the increasing ubiquity of fast food will take a heavy toll on the environment. The reason is that the establishing more fast food chains need more resources to run these stores like electricity and packaging materials leading to adverse effects on the environment. Business activities such as serving customers acquire a lot of plastic bottles and food bags. These materials take a long-lasting time to be decomposed and exert adverse impacts on the quality of the land. In addition, using air conditioners in the outlets can produce emissions into the atmosphere such as CO2 which is the main cause of air pollution. In conclusion, the global growth of fast food companies may bring in short-term economic benefits. However, this phenomenon can produce some negative effects on both the environment and people in the long run which are of greater significance.