At present time, the population of some countries includes a relatively large number of young adults, compared with the number of older people. Do the advantages of this situation outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, young adults comprise a large number of some countries’ population compared to the older ones. In this essay, the merits in terms of increasing a country’s income and having a healthier community and demerits in terms of more dangerous behaviors and accommodation problems will be discussed. One of the main advantages of a young population is their enormous energy to work. When a nation is young, many of its citizens are keen to work in various sectors, which leads to the existence of more businesses and consequently paying more taxes to their government. As a result, the authorities can provide a better quality of life for their people. Another important thing is having a healthier community. The majority of complicated diseases and disabilities are more common among the elderlies compared to the younger ones. The young adults can easily spend a fraction of their time to exercise in their workplaces, which helps them to have a healthier body and mind. Unlike the elderlies, these youngsters do not need plenty of costly and long-term medical services, because chronic disease are less frequent at their ages. On the other hand, one of the main disadvantages of having a young society is the high risk of dangerous behaviors. The youngsters have plenty of energy and enthusiasm. If they do not discharge this energy properly, it is highly likely that they turn to aggressive behaviors including violation. As a result, the crime rate might become higher and there will be an unsafe society. Another demerit is the accommodation. These days, due to industrialization, the majority of young people live and work in big cities. Because factories and many businesses are located in towns, this number is increasing each year. Thus, the need for proper accommodation will rise as well. In order to provide housing, skyscrapers and multi-store buildings and shopping facilities should be built, which cost too much money and also even these places may not be enough. In conclusion, although some disadvantages including housing problems and high crime rates could happen due to the high number of youngsters in a community, the benefits including more productivity and incomes as well as less health problems are more important.