It can be difficult for small local shops to compete with large supermarkets and with on-line shops. How does this affect local communities? What could be done to improve this situation?

Local businesses have often struggled to compete with large supermarkets and online retailers. As a result, family-run shops go out of business, further disrupting local communities that depend on them. This essay will outline the impact it has on communities and possible solutions that can reverse the negative effects First and foremost, large supermarkets and online stores offer customers a wide variety of products including delivery services, membership schemes and club discounts, making shopping more convenient. Secondly, commercial retailers are open for longer hours whereas small local shops have limited availability. Furthermore, larger businesses make significant investments in marketing and brand building, therefore attracting a larger audience compared to family-run shops, which often struggle with limited visibility and outreach. Lastly, small businesses have a limited number of employees. They can potentially lose their workforce if larger supermarkets offer higher wages. However, they are some effective ways in managing this. Local governments can support small businesses by providing low interest loans, tax reductions and encouraging the public to shop locally by promoting the social and economic benefits. Moreover, online campaigns can be made to spread awareness about the impact family businesses face against large supermarkets. Furthermore, local shops can branch online, offering a wider variety of unique products and services. Conversely, an introduction to zoning laws whereby, commercial retailers are prevented from operating near small businesses. In summary, it is evident to note the adverse effects large supermarkets and online shops have on small businesses but, there is favourable solutions to tackle this problem. If more awareness is raised outlining the disruption larger businesses cause on local communities, this will encourage shoppers to shop locally.