Most countries aim to improve their standard of living through economic development, but many important social values can be lost as a result. Do the advantages of economic development outweigh the disadvantages?

In today's modern world, a substantial number of nations only focus to develop their standard of living through economic improvements, however, they lose several significant social approaches. Although the merits of economic development surpass the drawbacks, there are major social developments that should be considered. This essay will explore both advantages and disadvantages, providing relevant examples, before reaching a well-justified conclusion. There are numerous positive points. One of the main advantages is reducing inflation of countries. The economy is the most powerful tool, which any country has to battle with every sector. With a better economy, it can help to minimize poverty, especially in developing countries. Poverty is only one of the primary social issues that can be addressed by economic development, but other social values can be lost. For example, the US has acquired the highest economic success, however, it cannot mitigate notable social issues, such as nationalism and racism. In contrast, economic development may negatively affect society in direct or indirect ways, including the influence of tourism and high taxation. Consequently, the family, the smallest unit and the backbone of the society, may be collapsed. For instance, a recent research conducted by the University of Peradeniya (2024) revealed that in Sri Lanka due to the high taxation rate and increase in the tourism sector, that was introduced in 2022, 35% of local jobs were lost and 22% of social problems had been increased. In conclusion, taking everything into account, although the merits of economic development outweigh the drawbacks, it should be considered the other two major aspects: social and environmental. Poverty, nationalism, and racism are the major social issues that should be implemented as viable measures, for economic development.