Some people are afraid to go out for fear of being robbed on the streets. Still, there are robberies that happen inside houses. What do you think is the best thing a person can do to ensure his/her own security? Use specific reasons and examples to support.

A group of individuals present the view that one can be robbed anywhere, either on the streets or in their homes, whereas others believe that staying at home would be the safest way of not being robbed. I strongly agree with the former opinion. On the one hand, some people justifiably argue that robbery may occur at any time, regardless of the location. In other words, it does not matter if someone is at home or walking on the street since there is a threat of theft when a burglar enters a house in search of people ’s precious properties and even banknotes. However, a vast number of society members have been suffering from robbers on the congested streets. Therefore, individuals should not expose their jewellery or other luxurious accessories while walking on the streets as these items act as an incentive for thieves to attack the owners. Research findings confirm that the rate of pickpocketing has increased dramatically, especially among youngsters who are addicted and engaged in juvenile delinquencies. In addition, it would be a practical preservation against pickpockets that people carry pepper spray with them while doing their outdoor chores. Consequently, they find it easy to defeat themselves in a threatening situation. On the other hand, another group of people claim that the best way to protect themselves from robbers is that they do not go out. They insist that the individuals who walk on the streets are more likely to become stealing victims as crowded streets are like a paradise for thieves. However, I do not find this argument convincing as theft occurs not only when people go out but also when they are at home. To clarify, people should improve their homes’ security by using surveillance devices such as cutting-edge cameras and anti-theft doors which cannot be opened easily by burglars, as well as they should avoid opening the door for strangers. Moreover, wearing expensive jewellery when they go out to do their daily routines can tempt thieves to do their work even in the eyes of the population. To avoid stealing, nations should ask the government to install CCTV cameras on the main roads of famous places so they can capture criminals. To conclude, in my view, robbery may happen anywhere. In order to be secured from robbers one should not expose their luxurious items. Moreover, increasing homes’ security may assist in preventing burglary.