Doctors in many countries are saying that people are not getting enough physical exercises. What do you think about the cause of this problem? How can you address this?

There is an ongoing trend that people are less likely to exercise. In reality, many doctors in several countries are warning that this trend will invite serious health issues such as obesity and high blood pressure. Hence, in this essay, I will examine the main cause of this trend and suggest some possible solutions. To begin with, worldwide economic growth is the biggest reason for this tendency. Specifically, as more nations become eager to promote economic development, employees in those countries will need to spend more time on their work. Moreover, tighter daily schedules tend to deprive them of free time, leading to a decrease in the time for them to exercise. For example, in Japan, when this nation's GDP surged in the 20th century, the proportion of people who were struggling with obesity also increased. Furthermore, it has been proved that this Japanese case was caused by a smaller amount of time for them to invest in physical activities. Therefore, it is obvious that economic development directly causes this unhealthy trend. On the other hand, this information does not mean that there are no possible solutions. In fact, at that time, the Japanese government already realized widespread health issues and implemented several policies. For instance, the Japanese cabinet practised a policy which encouraged every company to have at least one gym. This policy was significantly effective in reducing the number of patients who suffered from obesity as the percentage of them against the entire population drastically decreased. Thus, it becomes clear that the most effective approach to resolving this societal issue is governmental actions. In other words, if governments implemented some public rules which aim to promote citizens to do exercise, resolving this issue on a worldwide scale would be possible. In conclusion, the main reason behind this phenomenon is worldwide economic growth because it forces ordinary people to spend less time on physical activities. However, as implied in the Japanese case, governmental actions are remarkably effective in solving this unhealthy tendency. For this reason, I propose that every country should follow the policy that was practised by the Japanese government in the 20th century.