Many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugar, which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree.

Elevated levels of sugar are included in numerous synthetic foods and drinks, which lead to a decline in health status. It is argued that one way to tackle this issue is through raising the cost of such products. I strongly disagree with this, because it has a low success rate and can be damaging to those who are not concerned. To begin with, although raising the price of products containing sugar can be prohibitive to some people, such a policy also harms those who are leading a healthy lifestyle. Produces that contain sugar surely have adverse effects on the human body if taken in large amounts. However, healthy individuals who take good measures to stay healthy often rely on the occasional consumption of such products. This is because completely abstaining from eating or drinking processed sugar when following a healthy diet can lead to devastating effects in the long run. For instance, a person developing their muscle mass through regular exercise will need to attend the gymnasium frequently over a long period of time, they also need to follow a strict diet that has no sugar included. If this person did not consume sugar every now and then, they would lapse and start eating chocolates and drinking sodas in high amounts which would ruin their progress and ruin their healthy lifestyle. In addition, instead of making sugary products more expensive, suppliers should opt to start campaigns that promote the side effects of sugar consumption. For instance, local stores should include a warning label on the cover of these sugary goods that lists the drawbacks of sugar. This would result in buyers reconsidering their decision after reading these drawbacks. this approach is more favourable in reducing consumption when compared to increasing the cost. Furthermore, raising the cost of processed foods and sugars would not be as effective because not everyone is financially responsible, hence, more individuals would buy these products first before regretting their decision after consuming it. To conclude, the elevated level of sugar found in numerous foods and beverages can have a negative impact on the health of individuals. While it is argued that increasing the expense of these products would hinder the amount of purchases, I completely disagree. This is because not only do such policies have a widespread impact, but a more targeted approach such as advocation through small labels on merchandise’s cover can be more effective.