Many people think that the government should invest more in public services instead of arts like music and theatre. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Government spending has long been debated, particularly whether funds should prioritize essential public services or be invested in the arts. While cultural fields like music and theater can contribute to national identity, this essay argues that investing in public services such as education, healthcare, and infrastructure has a more direct impact on citizens’ well-being and long-term societal progress. One major reason why governments should invest more in public services is the overpopulation of urban areas. Many individuals are moving to metropolitan areas for job opportunities and to have a better quality of life. Therefore, overpopulation of these cities causes traffic jams, limited transportation options, housing problems, and insufficiency in healthcare. To mitigate this issue, governments should invest more in improving transportation services, ensure road safety, instruct roads to ease traffic, expand affordable housing, as well as raise awareness of health issues through campaigns and hire more healthcare providers to reduce waiting hours in hospitals. Societal problems are crucial for citizens’ long-term lives. Although music and theater are important for cultural events, the digitalization and urbanization of the modern world are significant than before. Many people are following trends on social media; from cuisine to art, many cultural preferences are now shaped by digital platforms. Therefore, investing in the arts will be inadequate and inefficient for developing a country. For example, the historical city of Rome has been struggling with traffic and inadequate transportation for years, although it is one of the cities that has preserved art for years. In conclusion, public service investment should be prioritized to give people a more developed country. Arts are essential, but only to keep cultural identity away, which is fading due to the digitalization of the world. Therefore, improving real-life problems like traffic, healthcare, and construction would be better long-term societal progress and generations.