Shopping is now one of the most famous forms of leisure activity in many countries for young adults. What is the reason? Is it positive or negative?

There is a common belief that shopping becomes more and more popular as a leisure activity among youngsters around the world. I am of the opinion that numerous trends and digital advertisements cause such activities. However, teenagers tend to relax and meet with their friends while looking for new clothes, thus hobby is a waste of time, money and reason for stress and addiction to cash spending. As recent studies have found, in the present day, social media has a huge impact on people, due to the trends. Although, adults are not influenced by such videos, the young generation tends to follow novel and viral styles to stay interesting to society by imitating and copying superstars. Moreover, the majority of teenagers prefer shopping because of its calming effect. They are closing their consumer habits, during apparel purchasing and de-stressing with close people. On the otherhand, some argue that it is a negative tendency because of a possible addiction to funding wasting. Therefore, money spending substitutes relaxation as a therapy, resulting in consumers' habits and in obtaining happiness only because of the new clothes. Furthermore, it is causing constant waste of money and time. Nevertheless, it depends on personalities, this trend leads to stress, due to the lack of cash and time, a huge variety of unnecessary items. In conclusion, according to research, shopping is the most common free time activity, because of trends, observing viral and overpriced products, which encourage individuals to “stay trendy”. In addition, poverty, poor education and stress are caused by this hobby. If these developments continue to popularise, future generations will be unintelligent and addicted to shopping.