Traditional music is being lost as more and more people listen to international artists. What are the advantages and disadvantages of preserving traditional music?

It is often believed that more people nowadays tend to listen to international songs rather than their traditional music. While preserving traditional music can bring clear benefits, such as protecting cultures, there are also several drawbacks to consider. This essay will explore both the advantages and disadvantages of this trend. One clear advantage of people listening to their local music is that it would protect their culture and traditional habits. This is because music is deeply connected to tradition, values and ways of thinking. As a result, cultural diversity will be protected, and each country will be distinguished from others. For example, in some countries, such as Japan, traditional songs are involved in their TV shows which are known as Anime, to ensure that their culture and beliefs are passed down to future generations. On the other hand, a possible drawback of protecting traditional music popularity is that it can affect the new singers who play modern instruments and create new art to the world. This may lead to a decrease in the number of artists' fans and that could negatively impact their album sales. Consequently, new talented artists may disappear due to the lack of support from the people who prefer ancient music that is related to their history. In conclusion, although people should preserve their traditional music, as it is an essential part of their culture, excessive interest discourages new artists from creating modern music.