The government should invest more money in teaching science than other subjects for a country’s development and progress. To what extent do you agree of disagree?

There is an ongoing debate about whether governments should invest in the education of science or not. In effect, nowadays, a number of countries allocate a large amount of money to this field. Hence, in this essay, I will discuss both the benefits and drawbacks of this trend and explain why I believe that the public sector needs to care about other areas as well. To begin with, it is true that scientific development brings several advantages to society. For instance, the Industrial Revolution in the UK accelerated its economic advancement since the invention of the steam engine made manufacturing and public transport more efficient. Moreover, to achieve that invention, a high educational standard in scientific fields is essential. This example indicates that the investment in science education is significantly important for every nation. What is more, in the case of developing countries, the importance of scientific knowledge will surge because they need to develop their economies. Therefore, governments should allocate a lot of budget to science education. However, as some people argue, focusing solely on science fields invites potential drawbacks for communities. For example, if governments do not allocate enough expenditure to other sectors, such as art, literature and philosophy, the scientific progress in those nations will be delayed, as a consequence. This is because even if scientific areas have remarkably developed, if other fields have not enhanced enough, the approaches to sharing new findings would be limited. Also, those approaches can be established only by other fields, such as literature, since when we convey some meanings to others, we usually utilise the words. This information means that the importance of science education is significant, but other educational areas are also important for societal development. Thus, governments need to balance between them and invest in various subjects. In conclusion, whereas science contributed to societal development in world history and several scientific records denote the importance of the investment in this field, the enhancement in other fields is also essential in achieving scientific advancements. For this reason, I completely disagree with the statement that governments should allocate more budget only to science.