Some people believe that the increasing use of computers and mobile phones for communications has had a negative effect on young people's reading and writing skills.

There is a view that many people use computers and phones to talk to each other. Some people think this is bad for young people ’s reading and writing skills. While some people oppose this notion, I personally argue in favour. To begin with, many young people do not read books anymore. They spend more time on social media or watching videos on their phones. As a result, their reading skill become poor. They are not used to reading long texts or understanding difficult words. In addition, young people use phones and computers mostly for chatting or texting. When they do this, they often use short words and emojis. For example, they write “u” instead of “you” and “lol” instead of full sentences. This makes their writing worse because they don’t practise using correct grammar or spelling. However, some people say that technology helps young people write and read more because they use it for emails, messages, or reading news. But I think these are not enough. Most young people use phones for fun, not for learning. Especially nowadays youngsters spend lots of time on social media such as Instagram, Facebook, etc. Because of that, their logical thinking has declined. In conclusion, I believe that too much use of mobile phones and computers for communication is bad for young people ’s reading and writing. They need to read books and write more in the correct way. Also, when they communicate a lot especially face-to-face, their communication skills will grow.