Some people say that there is too much harmful content on the internet. They say the only way to make the internet safe is for the government to censor the content of websites. To what extent do you think the government should control what information is available on the internet?

There is currently a contentious argument over negative effects of extreme and immoral content present on the internet. Some people argue that the only way to limit the effects is to cencor the information by government -controlled methods.I believe that government should regulate certain harmful information but full censorship would hinder the freedom of speech and access of knowledge. First and foremost, there are many reasons why government should control some infomation available online. Censorship protects children, from pornography, cyber bullying and violent materials. For instance,the dark websites have a lot of illegal content that causes serious harms to our young generation. Moreover, limiting access will prevent hate speech and extremist propagandas that can lead to violence and discrimation. In addition to this, cencorship also stops the spread of misinformation. For example, during COVID-19, a lot of misinformation spreads around the world regarding the vaccines and number of deaths. On the other hand, government should not control everything on internet. Censorship can be abused by authoritarian regeims and political parties to silence dissent and manipulate public opinion. Thus, full censorship will not allow people to have freedom of speech and access to real information which is essential in democratic societies. Furthermore,the internet has turned the whole world into global village and the government of one country cannot fully control content hosted elsewhere. However, tech-solutions such as AI and parental control allow indivduals and familes to filter content without full censorship. In conclusion, due to the aformentioned reasons, I believe that government should regulate extreme content for protection and safety of youth but not censor the internet entirely as it limit the freedom of speech and risks of government overreach.