Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

It is widely believed that children are having excessive exposure to their screen in the daily life. This essay will explore the intention behind such action and why I advocate that it is a negative development. To begin with, children are addicted to the smartphone due to its convenient, recreational and attractive characteristics. First and foremost, messaging apps such as Instagram and Whatsapp are very prevalent among the younger generation, enabling the real- time online interaction that bring considerable convenience and greatly facilitate people’s live. Secondly, people who are keen on chasing trends may be indulged in some social media — TikTok and Facebook — which involve short and fast-past videos that completely satisfy their curiosity. Moreover, some meaningless and satisfying games may be the major distraction for teenagers who are obsessed with the internet. In fact, students who are demotivated and frustrated by their low score in tests are more likely to be fascinated with games which help them achieve the sense of accomplishment. From my perspective, I firmly suppose that prolonged exposure to the smartphone is a negative development which may cause serious health issue. This is because the eyes strain may be formed if adolescents are spending too much time on their phone without any outdoor activities to fresh their eyes. A study conducted by researchers had claimed that the problem of children's nearsightedness is becoming increasingly severe and occurring at an earlier age. Furthermore, children ’s physiological functions may decline and their emotions could accumulate stress due to insufficient exercise and lack of time spent outdoors. As a result, it will pose a negative impact on both the physical and mental health. In conclusion, children tend to spend a considerable amount of time on such activities due to their entertainment value, convenience, and strong appeal. However, excessive usage may cause significant illness, so parents could take sensible precautions such as guide and control their screen time in order to avoid exploitation.