Prevention of crime is more important than punishment. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is often argued that crime prevention has higher priority compared to punishment. I partially agree with this opinion and will support my view with relevant reasons and examples. One compelling reason for this view is that most of the crime recently has been caused by the family breakdown. This means that the majority of the crime could be lowered by strongly supporting families as a prevention strategy. Another point worth noting is that a crime causes financial costs to victims and governments. This has been demonstrated by the study of crime in Korea over the last 20 years. The study indicated that it took more than 10 years for the victims to get completely compensated for the crime, according to the average salary in Korea. Also, the debt from the government increased more than 3 times, making it impossible for the government to completely pay for the annual debt. However, I would argue that this idea has several flaws. Firstly, there are several types of crime that cannot be solved only by prevention. The complication of cybercrime has been well demonstrated by its fast advancement. The methods and the duration of cybercrime have been upgraded frequently by the invention of AI, which can’t be solved only with prevention strategies. Moreover, the time for the criminals to get fully rehabilitated takes longer. It could lead to economic loss to a corporation that the criminal belongs to, because the age of most of the criminals is in the range of the working-age population. To sum up, I agree that crime prevention is more important than punishment because of the presence of family support systems and the financial loss to victims and governments. However, I disagree with the idea to a large extent because of the crime types that are not covered only by prevention, and the long period of criminal rehabilitation.