The popularity of fast food is increasing, especially among younger people. What are the cause for this trend? Is it a positive or negative development?

In recent years, people, especially the younger generation, have been consuming more fast food than in the past. This essay will explore the reason behind this trend and explain why it is largely a negative development. There are several reasons why junk food has become more popular among people. Firstly, people can find ready meals more easily, since junk food is accessible everywhere. For example, people can buy fast food from restaurants and grocery shops on the way back home without any effort. Secondly, due to the hectic pace of life, people and youngsters do not have much time to prepare a homemade dish for themselves. Generally, they are busy with their jobs and studies, so they prefer not to waste too much time and energy on cooking. Additionally, a great deal of advertising is carried out by companies to attract people ’s attention, especially younger people. Despite its convenience, the rising trend of fast food has negative consequences. One major concern is its impact on health. In fact, fast food contains preservatives, sugar, and high calories, contributing to diabetes, obesity and other related diseases. Additionally, scientists have figured out that preservatives can be a reason why people get cancer. Furthermore, the high population of fast food can diminish traditional snacks and cuisines, leading to a loss of cultural identity. Lastly, fast food manufacturing factories usually use harmful materials, which have a negative impact on the environment. In conclusion, although the trend of consuming fast food is increasing due to the convenience and comfort that it offers to people and the younger generation, this trend poses serious health, cultural and environmental problems.