Nowadays more and more people are finding about their family history. Why?is it a positive or negative development?

People in some countries around the world are showing keen interest in learning about their family history. The major causes of this trend are: contribution to medical research and tracing the roots of their origin and ancestry. This essay believes that it is a positive progress as it is useful to cure diseases and good traits of the family can be inculcated. The primary reason why the individuals explore about history of their family is that it helps in medical analysis of an individual. To be more precise, the genetic makeup of a person can be examined through gene mapping which is beneficial to predict ailments, syndromes and mutations, which have detrimental affects on one's body. Moreover, young generations tend to trace the familial roots in order to know about the ancestral links and possesions. Also, they can try to meet their living relatives by exploring their origin and the family tree. Furthermore, I am strongly convinced by it to be a positive development as it is useful in curing illnesses which are genetically acquired by the patient. There are several treatments in the medicine which require examination of family history to treat the person by knowing the dominant and recessive trait in the family. For instance, gene therapy is given to the affected foetus by studying the mutations in parents and grandparents to protect the offspring from the deadly ADA disease. In addition to this, inculcation of families values and traits are facilitated by the exploration of family's past. To fortify further, getting details about forefathers enables people to preserve their traditions and pass them onto younger generations to keep their race into existence. In conclusion, finding family history contributes in field of science and tracking of origin and ancestral roots is enabled, which are the causes of this tendency. I believe that it is a positive practice as it helps in curing sicknesses and instils valuable traits of the family.