In today’s competitive world, many families find it necessary for both parents go out to work. While some say the children in these families benefit from the additional income, others feel they lack support because of their parents’ absence. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

In the past, a typical family consisted of a father who went out to work and a mother who stayed at home and looked after the children; however, nowadays, it is the norm for both parents to work. This situation can affect children both positively and negatively. Some people think that the children of working parents are in an advantageous position as their parents are able to afford more luxuries such as new clothes, video games or mobile phones. Proponents of this view argue that children are able to enjoy and experience more from life due to their parents ’ extra wealth, for example, by going on foreign holidays. On the other hand, there are those who claim that when both parents work, their children do not get enough support and attention. This may mean that these children might not do as well at school because there is no one at home to provide support with such things as homework or exam revision. Young people may procrastinate or play games if their parents are not there to make sure they study. The absence of parents at home could also make it easier for children to get involved in such things as drugs or underage drinking. A responsible guardian at home can make sure that the young person does not get involved in dangerous activities with the wrong people. In conclusion, I believe that we cannot change the fact that both parents have to work nowadays; it is not an ideal situation, but if parents make time for their children in the evenings and at the weekends, then the children will not suffer in any way. It must be stated that the extra income generated by both parents working makes for a much higher standard of living which benefits the whole family.