In the past, when students did a university degree, they tended to study their own country. Nowadays, they have more opportunity to study abroad. Do advantage of this development outweigh this disadvantages.

Nowadays, access to education is becoming easier, which provides greater chances for students to study abroad and makes many students prefer to pursue higher education overseas. Unlike in the past, they tended to study within their own country. This essay will examine the advantages and disadvantages of this development. The main advantage of studying abroad is that universities can offer better career prospects through their extensive alumni network and well-known reputation. This makes people, particularly from developing countries, compete for admission to institutions in developed countries. Additionally, their advanced and updated curriculum is considered able to give added value to students and help them to meet the demands of the modern workforce. For instance, graduates from Ivy League universities often get a higher acceptance rate in obtaining prestigious jobs at prominent companies such as Microsoft, Apple, and JP Morgan. On the other hand, this trend might lead to a loss of national identity, as many students prefer to stay abroad where the job opportunities and salaries are more attractive. Consequently, it makes those students reluctant to go back home and contribute to their own country’s development by being workers in local companies or entrepreneurs. For example, several outstanding Indonesian students graduating from Harvard and MIT often seek career chances in the US and hope to get a permanent residence in the long term, rather than return to their homeland and serve their country with their proficiency and knowledge. Overall, the abundance of decent working opportunities overseas has lured numerous students to continue their education abroad. On the flip side, this might reduce people’s sense of nationalism for money. It is important to elevate our knowledge through study in more advanced countries; however, it is equally important to remember who we really are.