Some parents believe that learning mathematics at school is reductant and should not be taught while others believe that it should remain a foundational subject whether or not it is used later in life. Discuss both sides.

In contemporary society, people hold different perspectives on the importance of mathematics in school. While some believe that this subject is a waste of time and energy, I would argue that it is very foundational and can contribute a lot to students' future lives. To begin with, there are several reasons why people view maths as unnecessary. First, educating calculations such as algebra or calculus are unimportant to students who plan to occupy jobs that are unrelated to maths. For example, the use of trajectory is only important for maths or physics students but it has no significance for lawyers. Second, many misunderstand the nature of math, viewing it solely as computation rather than as a problem-solving tool that can be applied in various fields such as science, engineering, economics, and even social sciences. Nevertheless, mathematics can bring clear advantages to children. Firstly, calculations are vital in daily activities, such as paying for goods and bills or measuring ingredients to cook and bake. Secondly, in an increasingly data-driven world, mathematical skills are essential for analyzing, interpreting, and making sense of data. This is particularly relevant in fields like data science, business analytics, and finance, where data-driven insights are crucial for success. In conclusion, different people hold varying opinions about whether mathematics should be in the curriculum or not regarding its use in the future. I insist that this subject have numerous useful purposes that should not be ignored.