In some countries, an increasing number of people are suffering from health problems as a result of eating too much fast food. It is therefore necessary for governments to impose a higher tax on this kind of food. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

In some places in the world, the increasing presence of fast food has directly caused many people's health to deteriorate due to overeating. Noticing the situation, THE country administrators decided on a solution that I disagree with, which is setting a new tax on the beloved food. From one standpoint, higher taxes on processed food could have a hand in improving citizens' health. In the first place, the primary reason why people willingly consume food with low nutritional values is because of its affordability compared to its organic counterpart. If we strip down fast food's advantage of being cheap, various individuals will probably have to consider trading convenient meals for healthier ones, reducing the looming risks of diseases. For this outcome, taxation might be a good answer to the overconsumption question. Nevertheless, the governments' approach is not guaranteed to work and may have unwanted effects when looking from a financial perspective. As far as I am concerned, fast food is an economical choice for numerous individuals, many of whom have low or average incomes. To introduce the tax policy is to bring more burden to citizens who already have a tight food budget, not to mention that other alternatives like organic food are still relatively more expensive even with the tax raise. In addition, the amount of food customers consume at fast- food locations is inextricably linked to the number of workers in said places. After all. no buyers means nothing to sell, so the need for employees is meaningless. As a result, not only will the governors' decision affect consumers, but it will also drag down the employment rate. To conclude, raising taxes on pre-cooked food can be seen as an appropriate measure in theory. However, real life has many aspects to consider, and the new rule may make the problem go from bad to worse.