Many people believe that zoos have no purpose in today’s world and should be closed. What problems do zoos bring? What are the alternatives to zoos if they are closed?

In today’s world, there are a large number of individuals who assert that having zoos in their nations is not beneficial anymore and should close them. In my opinion, setting zoos in a country causes various issues, such as the possibility of hurting citizens by animals getting out of their enclosures and unpleasant smells. In addition, there are some possible alternatives: animal cafes and museums. To begin with, one of the troubles that residents might face is that they, especially those living near zoos, could be put in danger. In other words, if some dangerous animals like lions left their enclosures, they would likely hit residents. To illustrate this, in Japan, there are an increasing number of cases in which folks in Fukushima got injured due to some bears because of zoo staff who forgot to lock the door when cleaning. Furthermore, the unique smells that animals emit can negatively affect people’s daily lives, which may worsen their quality of life. For example, Chinese citizens living around the Beijing Zoo have been suffering from the disgusting smells, leading them to vomit more frequently. Next, there are also some alternatives that we could take advantage of. One of them is increasing the number of coffee shops with a wide range of animals. This would enable citizens to reduce stress from anxiety caused by the risk that zoos might pose. Moreover, they can still interact with animals over a cup of coffee in a relaxing atmosphere, resulting in a better quality of life. Another is that we can enjoy learning about animals without a threat. This can be materialised by showcasing a wide variety of photos and virtual materials. To sum up, a lot of folks feel that zoos are no longer profitable and should be banned. The problems should be on harmful animals hitting citizens and awful smells from animals. What we can do for the alternatives is to build more cafes where you can see different species and more museums with some technological exhibitions.