Some people say that in our modern age it is unnecessary to teach children about the skill of handwriting. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some individuals argue that in today’s modern era, it is not important to teach children handwriting. This essay agrees with this opinion because technology is used for writing, such as handwriting recognition and keyboards. Moreover, children can learn handwriting by themselves later in life and use the saved time to learn other necessary skills. Children do not need to learn handwriting due to technological advancement. Rapid tech development has created many tools that can be used to write, like handwriting recognition and keyboards. Therefore, many children now grow up within this technological era and become more familiar with it, so they do not really need to learn handwriting. It is easier for them to use technology, and future careers usually do not require handwriting, as devices such as laptops, tablets, and computers are more commonly used. For instance, many companies nowadays use digital systems and have replaced printed materials and archives. Handwriting is also unnecessary because the time used to teach it can be invested in teaching children more essential skills. That is to say, instead of focusing on a skill that they are unlikely to need in the future, time should be spent on learning fast keyboard typing or how to use specific programs to keep up with the demands of the modern world. For example, in Norway, many schools replaced paper books with tablets and concluded that it was easier for children and did not affect them in the long term. They could learn handwriting later if needed, while the early time was used to teach skills that provided a better long-term return. In conclusion, I believe that teaching children handwriting is outdated and unnecessary. As technology continues to replace traditional tools, the need for handwriting has become less important, and that time should instead be used to teach children more beneficial skills, such as how to use modern technology.