The best way to teach children to cooperate is through team sports at school. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In today's rapidly evolving world, there is an ongoing debate on cooperative, one of the main soft skills, in school children. Most people believe that the most suitable way for teaching children to cooperate is that engaging with team sports at school. Although there are a few methods to teach this skill, i completely believe that the best approach is through team games. This essay will examine two primary reasons, supporting my perspective, illustrated with relevant examples, before reaching a well-justified conclusion. There are some methods for teaching teamwork skills, such as group assignments and social events. However, although these approaches are available, the most effective one is non-individual games, for example, cricket, rugby, football, and netball. Team games not only improve cooperative skills, but also enhance other soft skills relative to the main one, namely, respect for other members and understanding others. A recent research study conducted by the University of Peradeniya (2024) revealed that cooperativeness can be achieved from team games compared to other methods, mentioning the effectiveness as 55% of the total. Furthermore, this method is useful to boost the academic level of children. For instance, in Asian countries, especially South Asian nations, most scholars have perform in academia, who mainly engage with sports. This has been proven by several technical reports. In conclusion, taking everything into account, I firmly believe that engaging with team games is the best way to enhance cooperativeness at school due to several reasons: boosting academic performance, and enhancing other soft skills.