Some say that music, art and drama are as important as other school subjects, especially at the primary level. Do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that teaching arts-related subjects at elementary schools is as essential as other courses. This essay completely disagrees with this statement because the priority is for essential subjects, and art subjects won't benefit society as science courses will. Educating children is an important thing, and educational institutions should focus more on scientific classes. In the early stages, children first need to master reading, writing, and arithmetic before expanding into creative subjects, because a weak academic foundation will affect all subjects later on. For example, in Italy, in the 1700s, schools were teaching youngsters how to be creative and focusing on their hobbies more than any other science. Therefore, there was a small percentage of scientists and doctors, and this is why it was reflected in the spread of many diseases at that period of time. Art, such as theatrical Acting, music and painting – these subjects will benefit the artist himself more than benefit his society. Artists often produce art because they love the field and want to show the world their work, but that passion won't be much of use for the community, unlike doctors, scientists, and engineers who have dedicated their lives to the service of the community. For instance, late in his life, American singer Elvis Presley amassed a huge fortune and lived a luxurious life through his concerts and albums, but at that stage, he did not provide a real service to society. Rather, his music was merely personal entertainment for the public and a means of making money and fame, unlike doctors or engineers who provide tangible benefits to society. In conclusion, young children must know the basic subjects before starting to learn creative courses, and every individual in society must help others, not only seeking the benefit for himself.