The crime nowadays is decreasing compared to the past due to advance in technology which can help prevent and solve crime.To what extent do you agree or disagree?

One of the social concerns today relates to criminal rates. While it is widely acknowledged that the number of crimes occurring nowadays has decreased gradually compared to previous decades, this development can be associated with the advancement of technology. From my observation, I partly agree with this viewpoint for a variety of reasons as there are more individuals committing crimes without the use of technology. On the one hand, I do believe that technology plays an significant role in preventing and addressing crime, especially cyber crimes. In fact, people nowadays are living in an Orwellian society where most actions are supervised by cameras, which results in more safety assurance. This means that whenever individuals report about the acts of violence, that occur in their neighbourhood, on the street or even in particular places, governments can easily arrest the perpetrators by utilising cameras and technological devices. Furthermore, as I mentioned before, technology can effectively address online crimes such as information theft and cyberbullying and racism. On the other hand, despite the freedom we are offered by using social platforms, governments have implemented strict policies on users who leave offensive comments. For instance, if someone posts or leaves aggressive comments, we can report their comments since the reviewer will immediately ban these accounts. Nevertheless, technology only aids in preventing and solving cyber crimes, while there are still other types of crimes that need to be addressed. For instance, violent crimes such as armed robbery and assault, organised crimes like human trafficking and drug smuggling, corruption and tax evasion continue to pose serious threats. Although technology does have a positive influence in tackling crime nowadays, I remain concerned about other perpetrators who employ more sophisticated and subtle plans, often exploiting legal loopholes and evading detection. In conclusion, although it is predominantly believed that the advancement of technology has contributed effectively to the decrease of crimes nowadays, I am convinced that non-digital crimes such as human trafficking or assault remain the biggest problems and require practical and comprehensive solutions beyond technology.