The most important aim of science should be to improve people’s lives. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

There has been some debate around whether the primary focus of scientific knowledge should be the betterment of people's lives. Many people believe that science should have its main target on the benefits of humans. This essay will counter this belief. Firstly, science is a combination of theories and facts, which humans gather out of pure curiosity. While being curious is an innate nature for some people, being thoughtful of others' betterment can be secondary for them. For example, while discovering gravity, light and electricity, the scientists' primary goal, perhaps, was not to find a tool for human benefit; rather, it was a question of what and how. If there were restrictions on scientific research, then many theories might have been nipped in the bud. Additionally, one cannot guarantee that the discovery they have made can only be used for the betterment of others. Most of the technological advancements, if not all, have both good and bad usage. For example, the research that leads to energy generation, can also be used for producing atomic bombs. This suggests that one cannot determine which knowledge will be used for good and which will be used for evil. On the contrary, performing research while keeping the benefits of humanity in mind can motivate some individuals to develop revolutionary products which can be helpful for mankind. This might help solve the primary issues of humanity more rapidly. For example, if one has their main focus on the benefit of humanity, they should try to solve the issue which is most detrimental to their well-being. In conclusion, science cannot be tied to one priority, as science itself is spontaneous. Even though it might not sound ideal, science has to be developed for the sake of science.