Nowadays, a growing number of people with health problems are trying alternative medicines and treatments instead of visiting their usual doctor. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

Many people with certain diseases prefer to ask for an alternative treatment than consult to their personal doctor. In my point of view, this issue has many downsides that can lead to higher possibility of deaths among patients and health professionals job opportunities will be significantly decreased. In this era, other recovery methods towards health problems become widespread in the world. This is because people who are not coming from the health and medical practitioners desire to be able to solve health problems as their sources of income. For example, in Pandeglang, a district in Indonesia, people commonly ask for treatment with alternative way, such as using certain items like rocks or just a glass of water created by the ‘magician’ they believe in. This becomes worse time to time and causes many victims whose illness cannot be recovered easily and number of deaths in that city is rising. In terms of occupation, health professionals, such as doctors and their assistant, stated that their opportunities to be hired by hospital or clinics are declining due to public intention to choose traditional treatment. For instance, death rates because of inappropriate treatment done by irresponsible individuals are growing up in Ciamis, Indonesia. Consequently, in these three past years, doctors and other health practitioners have been struggling to fulfill their responsibility in giving treatments to certain illness. Evidently, lack of awareness to visit doctors cause many problems and negatively impact to numbers of people who are actually relying on their jobs. To sum up, traditional or alternative methods which done by unreliable individuals are lowering the recovery process for patients itself because many diseases cannot be healed without any medical process. Moreover, professionals related to health, have to tackle challenges that leads to job losses.