: Some people think that physical strength is important for success in sport, while other people think that mental strength is more important. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

In today’s society, while some people assume that physical strength contributes the most to success in sport, others believe that sportsmen’s mentality is more important. In this essay, I am going to discuss these ideas and give my own one later. On the one hand, it is mainly believed that embracing a strong physique can provide sportsmen very significant advantages, especially in competitive sports. These physical factors can include duration, speed or basic strength, which may affect their performance; hence, are essential for competitors to achieve their goals and wins. Moreover, acquiring impressive strength can also give sportsmen confidence to deal with hardships in sports. To illustrate, football, despite being regarded as a teaming sport, still has spaces for personal moments of players, which not only creates the dramatic atmosphere but also helps them to feel confident. On the other hand, I still believe that mental strength plays a more considerable role in helping athletes achieve their peak. In sports, particularly those with high competitiveness like running or swimming, sportsmen are required not only to have a strong body but also to be robust mentally in order to stay calm and tackle even the most stressful situations. Moreover, thanks to embracing an unbreakable mentality, sports players can still stand up and keep going no matter how bad and unconfident they may feel about themselves and failures. For example, there are certain sports which require little physical strength but dexterity, calmness and sometimes strategies such as bow-shooting, sword fighting, chess and so on, creating a balance over the strength -based sports. In conclusion, with the above factors demonstrated, I agree that physical strength is essential in sports but cannot still play the role of mentality.