Some people believe that technology is making people more socially isolated, while others think it is helping people connect. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

With the development of technology, while many individuals think that social media can be useful for bonding people, it is the cause of social isolation, in this essay, I will discuss both views and give my opinion later. On the one hand, social media can consist of diverse social platforms and applications for texting; therefore, it is convenient for people to link up with family and close friends in some special cases, like an emergency or in a faraway place. Moreover, many tools like email, chatting, and video calls help exchange information and ideas quickly and effectively, for example, some direct applications, including Room or Google Meet, are helpful for more convenient meetings with foreign and domestic companions. On the other hand, depending on the smartphone and the internet, which may reduce social interaction and make people lonelier, bored, and have some mental health problems, such as depression and social anxiety. Furthermore, the social applications also contained false information; consequently, this can cause conflict and lead to a loss of trust between people. For example, during the COVID-19 epidemic, false information about the number of patients can cause embarrassment and worry for citizens, while unity and consensus are necessary. In conclusion, social media can make people lonelier, but if we can deal with these drawbacks, their benefits can outweigh it.