‘Some think the best way to motivate and encourage people to work hard is to pay them based on how much they produce and sell. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

In this modernized era, one part of the society claims that the best method to motivate and encourage people to work harder is by giving them a salary that is equal to the effort that they put in the job. In my opinion I partly agree with this statement. To begin with, paying people based on what they produce and sell can boost the employee's mentality as it creates a connection between people's effort and their salary. By knowing that they can earn more if they work more, people will have the tendency to work harder and put more effort into the job. Moreover, this can not just enhance the productivity of each but also create a competitive environment among employees. For instance,businessmen nowadays tend to put the goal higher and higher after time as they can earn from the sales percentage. On the other hand, paying people based on sales can cause people to face stress and anxiety because to reach enough sales people will need many factors such as market and consumer needs. Furthermore,employees can also have to face health problems due to the overtime hours. For example, clerks who have to sit opposite a computer screen for hours often have eyes syndrome such as short sighted or pinkeyes, some can even have herniated discs. Moreover, this method of paying is considered to be not suitable for some jobs such as doctors and teachers and this method can also lessen the quality of products. In conclusion, giving people a salary as much as they deserve is a good method to motivate and make people work harder but it also has some negative impacts and is not suitable for certain jobs.