Nowadays, a growing number of people with health problems are trying alternative medicines and treatments instead of visiting their usual doctor. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

There have been many discussions surrounding whether choosing alternative medications instead of seeking help from a physician is a good decision. Many have opted for these kinds of remedies and believe they can be a positive change. However, this essay will discuss how this habit can be rather dangerous. First and foremost, consuming drugs without a proper health investigation can be very detrimental to one's health. Moreover, in most cases, when patients opt for these kinds of cure, they self-diagnose. This often results in an incorrect outcome, which might lead to the wrong treatment. For example, usually the individual who gets self-diagnosed or diagnosed by an uncertified person might be recommended an inaccurate medicine. Additionally, these treatments are, in most cases, unlicensed. Medication without a license can be the cause of many other illnesses and even death. Furthermore, no one can give any certainty that these products are safe and useful. People might fall ill due to the side effects, and their condition might get worse. One should be rather careful before consuming these kinds of so-called medicines. On the other hand, many argue that alternative medicines are a cheaper substitute for doctors. A visit to a certified doctor can be costly, which many patients cannot afford. The certified medicines are also out of reach for some individuals. However, this can be solved by government interference. To conclude, the dangers of opting for alternative remedies are numerous. Improper treatment can lead to bad health and even death in some cases. We should be careful before opting for such measures.